Book Review: Off the Record (Record #1) by K.A. Linde

Off the Record (Record, #1)Off the Record by K.A. Linde

Blurb:

Liz Dougherty has no idea a single question is about to change her life.

Her first big reporting assignment for her North Carolina college newspaper has her covering a state senator’s impromptu press conference. Brady Maxwell may have everything it takes to be a politician—a winning pedigree, devastating good looks, a body made to wear suits—but his politics rub Liz the wrong way. When Liz’s hard-hitting question catches the upstart senator off-guard, it impresses Hayden Lane, Liz’s editor who feels she’s headed for a promising career as a reporter.

But Liz is also headed into a secret romance with Brady that could destroy both their ambitions. Though he’s a bachelor, potential voters might frown on Brady cozying up to a reporter. And Liz isn’t sure sneaking around is enough for her—especially when things between her and Hayden might be less platonic than she thought.

Sleek, sexy, and smart, Off the Record ventures into a high-stakes campaign and an even higher-stakes affair to answer the question: When politics and love collide, can there ever be a winner?

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

2.5 to a low 3 stars

Now that I’ve had time to think things over, I think I may not be so willing to read the sequel of Off the Record. This is my first K.A. Linde book and judging by people’s reviews of her Avoiding series, she definitely loves her angst. But I don’t and I try to stay away from love triangles (so I wonder why I even picked this up in the first place).

Actually, I thought the premise was really interesting. I do appreciate a good book with a politician MC and I’ve read several, so I am quite familiar with the whole forbidden aspect of it.


However, I found myself skimming A LOT. It wasn’t precisely because I was bored with the story or that it was bad, I just personally didn’t want to deal with the heaviness of their situation. Call me a coward but I didn’t want to invest myself into it as soon as I saw how it was going to be very angst-driven, and honestly, all Liz (the reporter) and Brady (the Senator) ever did was have sex anyway so I wouldn’t have missed much in terms of the plot.

Speaking of Liz, oh how I was annoyed by her! She was so immature and silly, and I just couldn’t care less about her so it was hard for me to feel sorry for her at all. Brady, on the other hand, was your typical douche, and he did hurt Liz a lot, but I liked his character more. Also, the last chapter with his POV, I loved it! It showed me that he had depth, and for that sole reason, I would like to find out how he would grow in the series. But then again, I don’t think I can deal with the obvious love triangle situation going on especially since Liz is acting all stupid about it.

If you’re a fan of the author’s previous books, this one is definitely for you.

*ARC provided by NetGalley

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

