Book Review: Seconds Before Sunrise (The Timely Death Trilogy #2) by Shannon A. Thompson

Seconds Before Sunrise (The Timely Death Trilogy, #2)Seconds Before Sunrise by Shannon A. Thompson

Blurb:

Two nightmares. One memory.

“Chaos within destiny. It was the definition of our love.”

Eric has weeks before his final battle when he’s in an accident. Forced to face his human side, he knows he can’t survive if he fights alone. But he doesn’t want to surrender, even if he becomes the sacrifice for war.

Jessica’s memory isn’t the only thing she’s lost. Her desire to find her parents is gone and so is her confidence. But when fate leaves nightmares behind, she decides to find the boy she sees in them, even if it risks her sanity.

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

3.5 Stars

OK let me start by saying that I was really excited to receive an ARC after waiting for months for this especially since I very much enjoyed the first book, Minutes Before Sunset. However, I do think that I just wasn’t in the right state of mind or mood while reading this because I couldn’t get into it as much as I wanted to. I feel like I had to say it as it may have unfavorably affected my overall rating.

Thud-thump. Thud-thump. Thud-thump. The heartbeat was unmistakable. It was his heartbeat – the dream boy’s – and he was here, with me, holding me, being with me. He wasn’t gone.

Seconds Before Sunrise picks up a few months after Jessica lost her memory, of her own choosing, and for her own protection. But it seems there are loopholes to the spell because she remembers things, and have haunting memories of a boy and a life she can’t understand. She also freaks out about the confusing gaps in her memory, especially forgetting whatever happened at prom.


Eric a.k.a. Shoman meanwhile is busy training for the battle but sometimes struggles to focus. He becomes so frustrated and mad at one point that he becomes reckless, crashing his car and ending up in a hospital – which by the way, happens just weeks before the big battle.

There are also other suspicious stuff going on with Robb, Crystal, Zac and Linda, and with Darthon and the battle looming, no one knows for sure who can be trusted. For Jess, nowhere in town seems to be safe anymore. Will she and Eric survive and defy what destiny has in store for them, especially as the Light makes known another heartbreaking twist to the Prophecy?

Chaos within destiny. It was the definition of our love.

The success of sequels, specifically the second part of trilogies, could go either way. I sometimes fear that the story would go in a direction that would make me not want to read the final installment, which would have really sucked because then I had just wasted my time after all. In this case, there was certainly chaos in my mind but after that twist was revealed in the end, it made me want to have the third book even more. Immediately, please!

So what made me give this only a 3.5 star-rating? For me, there seemed to be too many things going on. There was nothing wrong with the style of writing – I’m a fan – but I felt like there were little gaps between storylines, a case of more telling and not showing at times. Now I’m not an expert as I barely consider myself a writer, but as a fan of the Paranormal Fantasy genre, I need a clearer picture in order for my imagination to fully accept the alternate reality for what it is, no questions asked.

On that note, I would still recommend this series to anyone who loves YA / Paranormal Fantasy, and I truly believe that the finale’s going to be epic.

*This book was given to me in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Seconds Before Sunrise (The Timely Death Trilogy #2) by Shannon A. Thompson

  1. Pingback: Why I Am Most Nervous About the Second Book of a Trilogy | Shannon A Thompson

  2. Pingback: March Ketchup | Shannon A Thompson

Leave a Reply

