Book Review: The Plan by Qwen Salsbury

The PlanThe Plan by Qwen Salsbury

Blurb: 

Day of Employment: 358

10:15 a.m.

Location: Cubicles outside Canon’s office.

Co-workers: Betting on how long Canon’s new PA will last.

Me: No doubts. Ms. Gum-smacker won’t last the day. I need to place my bet.

Manolo Blahnik’s New Fall Shoes: Mine. As soon as Madeline hands over my winnings.

Emma Baker has never spoken a word to Alaric Canon, nor has he to her. But she’s studied him every day across the office tundra for almost a year. Canon is hard and fierce, terrifying and beautiful. He’s also the most stern, unforgiving person Emma has ever seen. Emma’s co-workers run a betting pool for Canon’s Personal Assistant terminations. There’s a separate pot for the day one leaves without crying. Not likely…Canon made a former Navy SEAL cry.

He has high standards and low tolerance. Everyone knows it. Everyone stays away. Everyone who can, that is. Except Emma. She can’t look away. Alaric Canon is the single most attractive man she’s ever seen. Bar none.

Canon has never noticed her. Not once in almost a year. She’s not even a blip on his radar. But she will be. His radar will be blipless no more.

It is a goal. Emma has a plan.

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I was so close to DNF-ing but I wanted to know how it would end, if it would at least get better – it didn’t – so I resorted to skimming through practically half of the book.

So I liked the premise. Office romance. Asshole boss. Snarky employee. I even liked how it was written, sort of. I mean I get how it was supposed to read like a prose but I didn’t quite get it. I usually love smart and witty books but this sounded too highfalutin that it just felt flat and forced. Really disappointing.

 Also, I really, really don’t get how someone who acted like a big douche would actually be that unmanly in bed?! It was the weirdest thing. Unbelievable. I did, however, kind of like Emma because she was sarcastic and I thought she was going to be a winner, but no, she lost me somewhere in all the skimming that I did. (view spoiler)

Oh and about her “plan”, that part of the plot was so half-assed and lame that I’m not even sure how and why everything happened the way it did. OK, so maybe it’s my own fault for skimming.

FYI, I rarely give a one-star rating.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Plan by Qwen Salsbury

Leave a Reply

