Book Review: Connected by the Sea (Hawaiian Crush #1) by E.L. Todd

Connected by the Sea (Hawaiian Crush, #1)Connected by the Sea by E.L. Todd

Blurb:

Living in paradise, Sydney loves her job, her friends, and her passion for marine biology. Her best friend, Henry, has an invested interest in her, but Sydney never seems to notice. While Henry is the perfect man, she only dates the wrong guys. Her ex-boyfriend cheated on her, broke her heart, and now she’s too shattered to give anyone a chance.

Until Coen…

A sexy bad boy with a tattoo, he elicits dark desires Sydney hasn’t felt in so long. His intense eyes, the color of the sea, capture her sight, making it impossible to look away. She tries to avoid him, knowing he’s no good for her, but Coen, who always gets what he wants, doesn’t take no for an answer.

Will Sydney regret this decision? Or will she find what’s been missing her entire life? The family she lost, the loves she misses, and the trust she never thought she could have for someone else?

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m afraid Dex and Perry have ruined me for others. I’ve been reading the EIT series for the past couple of weeks now so picking this up as a breather may not have been the best idea.

Connected by the Sea is your typical sweet NA read. Set in Hawaii, Sydney is a smart Marine Biology student who has a ‘troubled past’ – naturally – and she was cheated on by her ex-boyfriend. She’s loyal to her friends and because of that, it creates drama for her as she’s attracted to – of course – bad boy, Coen while her best friend, Henry, is in love with her.

The thing is, I really don’t mind reading the same old cliche storyline, as long as it works. This book has potential but I have a few issues with it, thus, my 3-star rating.


First, it took me a while to get into the story because the way it was written, I felt like it had a staccato rhythm to it. It seemed almost a bit amateurish, in my own humble opinion. Thankfully, it picked up when Sydney and Coen finally met.

Second, I thought Henry was kind of annoying. It was only until the latter parts that I felt sorry for him because in the beginning, I just thought “this guy should grow a backbone, or get a life”. Sorry, I simply wasn’t easily convinced.

Third, Sydney is one of those heroines – you know, the ones you’d really like to slap a few times. I mean, for someone supposedly really smart, she’s too stupid – or probably too scared, fine – when it comes to making decisions.

The best thing about this book, for me, is Coen. Hot, sweet and patient Coen. I can’t say he’s up to par with my other book boyfriends but he’s definitely yummy, I imagine. Haha!

Over all, this would have been a much better read if the pacing and the believability factor were executed better. There were just moments in the beginning where I felt like they were too much, too soon that they didn’t really feel real to me.

Then again, it might just be because of Dex and Perry. 😉

*ARC provided by the author

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

