Book Review: Minutes Before Sunset (The Timely Death Trilogy #1) by Shannon A. Thompson

Minutes Before Sunset (The Timely Death Trilogy, #1)Minutes Before Sunset by Shannon A. Thompson

Blurb: 

She was undoubtedly a shade, but I didn’t know her.

Eric Welborn isn’t completely human, but he isn’t the only shade in the small Midwest town of Hayworth. With one year left before his eighteenth birthday, Eric is destined to win a long-raging war for his kind. But then she happens. In the middle of the night, Eric meets a nameless shade, and she’s powerful—too powerful—and his beliefs are altered. The Dark has lied to him, and he’s determined to figure out exactly what lies were told, even if the secrets protect his survival.

He had gotten so close to me—and I couldn’t move—I couldn’t get away.

Jessica Taylor moves to Hayworth, and her only goal is to find more information on her deceased biological family. Her adoptive parents agree to help on one condition: perfect grades. And Jessica is distraught when she’s assigned as Eric’s class partner. He won’t help, let alone talk to her, but she’s determined to change him—even if it means revealing everything he’s strived to hide.

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was falling in love with her, and she was falling in love with me. It was fated, decided before any of us were born, and I hated it as much as I loved it. I could barely stand it.

Well, I’m not really sure what surprised me more – the fact that I loved this more than I honestly thought I would or that none of my book friends have read this or even added this to their TBR lists. Especially since I felt like this gave off a little bit of a Daemon Black and Katy Swartz vibe (you know, from the Lux series, which is totally one of my all-time favorite).

Minutes Before Sunset is the first installment of what I’m pretty sure is going to be an awesome trilogy. It’s about a “Prophecy” which talks about the Ultimate Battle between the Light and Dark, only this time, the Dark is actually the good side and the Light is the one that’s evil. Eric Welborn, the 17-year-old brooding Prince of Shades – the First Descendant – from the Dark community is destined to battle the Second Descendant, who comes from the Light camp, on his 18th birthday. Think Harry Potter and it’s basically the same scenario: “neither can live while the other survives”.

Now what I love most about this book, and practically in any other book, is the kick-ass heroine. I can always appreciate a female character whose purpose is not only to look cute and pretty in the arms of her leading man but to actually show some attitude and who knows how to fight back. Jessica “Jess” Taylor is typically the mysterious new girl in school just like Katy and Bella Swan were. Also, just like them, she ends up being paired with Eric, the equally mysterious and jerk of a guy that Daemon and Edward Cullen were like too, for a schoolwork. With that in mind, you’re probably wondering what is Jessica’s significance in all of this and if I’m comparing her to Katy and Bella, she surely has a much more important role here, right? Well, my question is: What’s up with high school students these days because they seem to be always responsible for the fate of the universe?

When everything was right, something was bound to go wrong.

However, as much as I enjoyed reading this, I had to give this only a 4-star rating because of a couple of issues. First, I felt like some of the explanations and the background stories weren’t enough for me to fully comprehend the whole picture. I mean, it wasn’t like I got confused or anything big like that but I guess it’s just me and my need for more detailed descriptions sometimes. Second, I understand that this is of the Young Adult genre but I kind of wanted there to have been more sexual tension between Eric and Jessica. I really loved them both but I wished that there would have been more intensity between them and a little bit more angst perhaps. Having said that, these were definitely not deal breakers at all, neither were the clichés I mentioned. In fact, I had issues with Obsidian too and I gave that 4 stars as well but the next three books of that series I had each given a 5 so I’m confident that this will also be the case this time.

One moment of true happiness was worth all the moments of pain.

All in all, this was a very entertaining read. It was fast-paced and if not for work, I would have finished it in one sitting. Thank you, Shannon A. Thompson, for introducing me to this whole new world. It’s honestly a gem! (P.S. Please let the second book come out sooner! Please please. My heart is breaking already because of you-know-what.)

 

*This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

 

View all my reviews

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Minutes Before Sunset (The Timely Death Trilogy #1) by Shannon A. Thompson

  1. Pingback: Quoting Other Bloggers | Shannon A Thompson

  2. Pingback: Cover Reveal Competition: Seconds Before Sunrise by Shannon Thompson | Write Out Loud

  3. Pingback: Cover Reveal: Seconds Before Sunset by Shannon A Thompson | Why I Can't stop Reading

  4. Pingback: Cover Reveal: Seconds Before Sunset (The Timely Death Trilogy #2) by Shannon A. Thompson | Press Pause, Fast Forward

  5. Pingback: Seconds Before Sunrise (The Timely Death Trilogy #2) by Shannon A. Thompson | Press Pause, Fast Forward

Leave a Reply

