Book Review: Finding Infinity (Infinity #3) by Layne Harper

Finding Infinity (Infinity, #3)Finding Infinity by Layne Harper

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“It’s just you and me, baby. That’s it. I’m just a girl who loves a boy.”

I’ve probably said this a million times before but I will say it again: the best books, for me, are always the ones that can make me relate to what the characters are feeling. Sure, I also love reading those that make me escape reality and fantasize about living the good life with a hot billionaire BBF but books like Finding Infinity, which make me think and feel deeply are the most memorable.

Obviously, I don’t know how it feels to be with someone as famous as Colin-fucking-McKinney (yes, I’ve noticed that little change). I don’t know how it feels to be constantly hounded by the paparazzi and how to regularly deal with crazy fans and the media’s backlash. But I do know the feeling of being in a relationship and I fully understand that love isn’t always enough to make it work. What more when every aspect of your love life is magnified and splashed all over the tabloids like Charlie/Caroline and Colin’s?

“I love Caroline Jane Collins, more than anything else in this world. When she’s sad, I’m devastated.”

At this point of the series, I had become so invested in Charlie/Caroline and Colin’s story that any little hurdle in their relationship made me so nervous and trust me, they had been through SO MUCH together and apart. I’m surprised I haven’t had a full-blown anxiety attack yet but if the prologue hadn’t been enough of an indication, the first two chapters had clearly given me an idea of how this was, again, going to strongly affect me emotionally.

“I told you I was the Brad Pitt of football.”

Colin-fucking-McKinney can very well be Brad Pitt and he and Charlie are pretty much the Brangelina of football, what with the CharCol moniker. But they also remind me a little bit of Giuliana and Bill Rancic (a real-life couple I love so much). Just like them, Charlie and Colin have faced a lot of problems and I can’t help but root for them. In book three, they struggle with so many issues that they can’t seem to catch a break in their relationship. Yet, in each roadblock, I get this feeling that somehow, someway they’re both going to make it. They just seem to love each other more and more. I mean, after EVERYTHING, after FIGHTING SO HARD to get to where they are now, there’s just no way that they’re not going to make it. Right? Because, come on, no couple deserves a HEA more than them!

“I love you more today than I loved you yesterday.”

As usual, I really appreciate how Layne Harper did not go for melodrama. Many books that involve famous characters and the paparazzi usually tend to get too Hollywoodin my opinion, and though it sometimes work, it can also be downright annoying. Charlie/Caroline and Colin may be public figures but this book shows us that they basically go through the same problems that regular people go through everyday (except dealing with the paparazzi).

“I fucking love you, Colin. You can’t leave me. You can’t give up on us. We both know what it feels like to be without each other, and we can’t do that again.”

I’ve been a CharCol fan since Falling into Infinity and I can see that they’ve both grown so much individually and unlike in From Now Until Infinity, where their relationship was full of angst, Finding Infinity shows us how much they’ve grown as a couple – they’ve become much better at communicating, compromising and just knowing what the other wants and needs.

I can’t wait to see what’s next for them in the fourth and final installment of the Infinity series. Actually, I’m dreading it a little bit just because it would mean no more CharCol after that. I don’t want to say goodbye to one of my favorite couples. OK, I’m starting to be really sad about it. *Sigh

Anyway, on a much happier note, NO CLIFFHANGER for book three and the epilogue left me with so much hope for their love story.

I can sum up Finding Infinity in these following lines:

This is real life. This is the backstory behind the fairytale.

All fairytales that I read as a child cut off at the wedding. No one hears about how the princess dealt with the prince leaving her every weekend to slay dragons. Or what happens when the wicked stepsisters waggle their perfect little asses in his direction. Do the princess and prince have a baby? Who knows? That part of the fairytale is omitted. Does Prince Charming want to have sex with the princess to make his ego feel better?

 

*ARC provided by the author

 

BOOK 1: Falling Into Infinity (Infinity #1) by Layne Harper
BOOK 2: From Now Until Infinity (Infinity #2) by Layne Harper

 

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

