Book Review: Promise Me Light (Promise #2) by Paige Weaver

PPFF Rating: 5/5 Stars
Best friends. In love. Forever.

goodreads blurb:

“I’m darkness, Maddie. Stay away from men like me. You’ll only get hurt.” 

At one time my life was simple. Easy. But that was before the war. Now I was no longer an average college student. I was a survivor. A woman living in a ravaged world. My future was not bright and my life was far from perfect. The war had taken so much from me… but it wasn’t finished yet. It wanted more. It wanted my heart. My soul. The one person I couldn’t live without. It wanted Ryder Delaney. My best friend. The bad boy. The one person who could fight like no other and love me like no one else. He was the father of my baby. I watched him walk away one hot summer day and I prayed he would return. I needed him like I needed air to breathe and water to drink. Without him I was lost. A light without her darkness. Until he returns, I’ll wait for him. And I believe he will return because love is powerful… And so is the light calling him home.

1265945_505866446165503_173970022_o

“I’ll always want you around, Ryder.”
“And I’ll always be there,” he said, his voice lower. “Wanting to be around you. Never needing anything else.”

I had some issues with the first book – it certainly wasn’t what I expected. But I enjoyed it, surprisingly, which was maybe because I had read Promise Me Darkness after watching World War Z so I was still pretty much in the mood for something apocalyptic. 😉

“Leave me. Run as fast as you can.”
“Never,” I whispered. “I’m not running unless it’s to you.

I’m so glad that I gave it a chance because it led me to this incredible love story between two best friends turned lovers who would go to hell and back just to keep each other safe and alive. What they felt for each other was so heartfelt and so passionate that I swooned each time.

“When you’re hurt and angry, I’ll be here. When you need the person that knows you like no one else, I’ll be standing here waiting for you. You may give up on me but I’ll never give up on you. I’ll always love you but I’m letting you go.”

Yes, the devastating effects of war are ever present but Promise Me Light is most definitely a romantic story. Give this two-part series a chance and you’ll surely fall in love with Ryder, the HOT and OVERPROTECTIVE ALPHA MALE and the very STUBBORN Maddie.

“You said it was over,” he whispered against my skin, sending a tingle through me. “But we’re never over.”

One thought on “Book Review: Promise Me Light (Promise #2) by Paige Weaver

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Promise Me Darkness and Promise Me Light by Paige Weaver | girl+book love

Leave a Reply

