Book Review: Her Soundtrack (Masquerade #1) by R. Matthews

PPFF Rating: 3.5/5 Stars
Love at first sight does exist.

goodreads blurb:

“Fairy tales don’t exist. There are no knights in shining armor and for all I know there is no such thing as real, honest-to-God, Earth-shattering romance. There is only comfort and ease when it comes to real love. I should consider myself lucky to have found someone who I’m comfortable with. There are no waves, there are no bumps in the road… so why do I feel like I want to crawl out of my skin?”

Life for Gabriella had always been straightforward, albeit a bit boring, but a passionate, almost magical, encounter with an enigmatic stranger catapults her into evolving into stronger version of herself. Her evolution does not come without consequence, though. Gabriella learns the hard way that turning on the lights can reveal just as much ugly as it can beauty. She discovers that the comfortable relationship she’d been idling in for too long is, in fact, far more dangerous than she ever imagined and finds herself desperate for the inexplicable comfort she finds in the arms of a stranger.

18158773

This started out to be an awfully familiar story to me. You know, that feeling of being in a relationship which felt safe and comfortable and yet, you can’t help but wonder if those are enough to make you stay. But then it also makes you ask yourself: am I willing to leave my comfort zone for the unknown? Does true love – one that’s so powerful and Earth-shattering – even exist?

Well, this was the dilemma that Gabriella (the heroine) was going through. She was in a long-term relationship with David, someone she’s known for years and whom she felt comfortable with. But she felt restless, like there was something missing in her life. So when she met Jonathan (a hot, young billionaire) at a masquerade ball in Italy during a family trip, she was almost in disbelief when she felt such strong feelings for someone whom she just briefly met. To think that she was with David for almost 4 years and never did she feel that much passion.

Passion or security? Jonathan or David?

You might think this is another angsty, love triangle story but it’s definitely not. Gabriella and Jonathan did have their fair share of problems to overcome, they didn’t exactly get together right away but it’s really a “love at first sight” kind of romance. I know some people might not fully appreciate this ‘instant love’ angle but for me personally, I loved it. It made me feel good and believe all over again that perhaps such love does truly exist. I may be single but I’m not cynical. 😉

The title was also a clever idea. Very cute, R. Matthews. 😉

But I only gave “Her Soundtrack” 3 1/2 stars because I felt like, although their love at first sight story was quite believable (not cheesy or forced which was a big positive) and NO CLIFFHANGER, there was something missing. I kept hoping that there would be that extra BOOM factor but it didn’t really come.

Having said that, I still recommend this to all the hopeless romantics out there. After all, you don’t have to be two f*cked up individuals to find love.

Leave a Reply

