Book Review: Escaping Reality (The Secret Life of Amy Bensen #1) by Lisa Renee Jones

PPFF Rating: 5/5 Stars
Secret identity. Hot billionaire. A whole lot of mystery.

goodreads blurb:

Infinite possibilities….
Infinite passion…..
Infinite danger….

His touch spirals through me, warm and sweet, wicked and hot. I shouldn’t trust him. I shouldn’t tell him my secrets. But how do I not when he is the reason I breathe? He is what I need.

At the young age of eighteen, tragedy and a dark secret force Lara to flee all she has known and loves to start a new life. Now years later, with a new identity as Amy, she’s finally dared to believe she is forgotten–even if she cannot forget. But just when she lets down her guard, the ghosts of her past are quick to punish her, forcing her back on the run.

On a plane, struggling to face the devastation of losing everything again and starting over, Amy meets Liam Stone, a darkly entrancing recluse billionaire, who is also a brilliant, and famous, prodigy architect. A man who knows what he wants and goes after it. And what he wants is Amy. Refusing to take “no” as an answer, he sweeps her into a passionate affair, pushing her to her erotic limits. He wants to possess her. He makes her want to be possessed. Liam demands everything from her, accepting nothing less. But what if she is too devastated by tragedy to know when he wants more than she should give? And what if there is more to Liam than meets the eyes?

17671483

“I’ve found you and so can they. Go to JFK Airport directly. Do not go home. Do not linger. Locker 111 will have everything you need.” 

OH. MY. GOD! I need the second book so bad! I really REALLY want to know what’s going to happen next. A cliffhanger always makes me so frustrated. Why can’t these books be standalones instead?

OK, rant over.

This book is definitely one of my favorites this year. It has all the elements that I love – a girl with a past, secret identity, a hot and possessive billionaire, steamy scenes and a whole lot of mystery.

“Fear and a secret are two different things.”

Amy Bensen is running away from something. We don’t know yet for sure from what or who but we do get some snippets here and there from her blackout episodes. Liam Stone is a “recluse” and a prodigy architect. They meet on the plane and it doesn’t get any easier after that.

“I’m insane for you, Amy. ‘Like’ lasted all of ten minutes.”

But I did have an issue with the book. I’m sure it was supposed to be that way but I kept thinking “OUT WITH IT ALREADY!” Lisa Renee Jones kept teasing us with bits and pieces of Amy’s story but whenever I was pretty sure she was finally going to tell us SOMETHING, she held back again. And oh, did I tell you I hated the cliffy ending??

“I guess ghosts are like lies. They swim like sharks all around me.” 

There were just too many unanswered questions. TOO MANY! But I’m still in love with this book anyway and I can’t wait for the second book, which was supposedly going to be released in October. OK, patience is a virtue, right? GRR.

One thought on “Book Review: Escaping Reality (The Secret Life of Amy Bensen #1) by Lisa Renee Jones

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Infinite Possibilities (The Secret Life of Amy Bensen #2) by Lisa Renee Jones | Press Pause, Fast Forward

Leave a Reply

