Book Review: Lick (Stage Dive #1) by Kylie Scott

PPFF Rating: 4/5 Stars
What happens in Vegas.

goodreads blurb:

Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this.

Evelyn Thomas’s plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure as hell never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.

One thing is for certain, being married to rock and roll’s favourite son is sure to be a wild ride.

17983690

When I first read the blurb on GoodReads, I got so excited. Ordinary girl got drunk on her 21st birthday. Hot rockstar. Vegas. ‘Nuff said. But after finishing this book in just one sitting, I felt like there was something missing. It seemed like there were details that were omitted.

I was not puking in front of this guy.
Not again.
“I’m so sorry.”
He physically recoiled from me. “Let me get this straight, you don’t remember anything?”
“No,” I said, swallowing hard. “What did we do last night?”
“We got fucking married,” he growled.
This time, I didn’t make it to the toilet.

There didn’t seem to be enough drama. Though I’m not yet sure if this is a good thing or not but I guess I’ve just been used to books about celebrities being too melodramatic. Not to say that there weren’t at all because there were the usual stuff – the press, trust issues, the ex and a whole lot of family problems.

I think what I’m trying to say is that personally, I feel a little bit of a disconnect with how things were portrayed specifically in terms of the explanations and how the characters reacted sometimes. One minute David’s being a jerk and then he just suddenly becomes almost too nice towards Evelyn.

Basically, the believability factor wasn’t there at times. But that’s just me. Perhaps I expected too much; the details about that night in Vegas didn’t even seem like a complete picture to me. Or maybe the preconceived notions that I had affected my opinion about the book.

“You’re out of control,” my father snarled, pointing his finger at me.
“No,” I said to my father. Then I turned and said what I should have said a long time ago to my husband. “No, I’m not. What I am is the luckiest fucking girl in the entire world.”
A smile lit David’s eyes. He sucked in his bottom lip, trying to keep the happy contained in the face of my parents’ fury.

But in the end, I still enjoyed reading Lick. It had a lot of those swoon moments that I really love. David was being the typical possessive (if not too insecure) rockstar who moved mountain for the love his life. Evelyn was your usual ordinary girl who had hangups about being big-boned, although it did put me off a little bit that she didn’t really know what to do with her life (but I should think being only 21 does give her an excuse).

I thought I could let you go
I thought that you could leave and know
The time we took would fade
But I’m colder than the bed where we lay
You let go if you like, I’ll hold on
Say no all you want, I’m not done
Baby, I promise you
Did you think I’d let you go?
That’s never happening and now you know
Take your time, I’ll wait
Regretting every last thing I said

Even though there were a few things that stopped me from giving this a 5-star rating, I will always be a fan of the rockstar-meets-the-ordinary-girl plot. And come on, let’s face it. Who wouldn’t want to end up getting trashed but still scoring big time by getting hitched  with a hot rock and roll God, notwithstanding the massive hang-o and the tattoo of the guy’s name?

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Lick (Stage Dive #1) by Kylie Scott

  1. Pingback: Lick (Stage Dive #1) by Kylie Scott | Nonsensical Thoughts and Ramblings...

  2. Pingback: Well … that’s depressing | Jaye Em Edgecliff

Leave a Reply

