Book Review: Falling Into Infinity (Infinity #1) by Layne Harper

PPFF Rating: 4/5 Stars
Love is truly sweeter the second time around.

goodreads blurb:

Pre-med student Caroline “Charlie” Collins, a sophomore at Texas A&M, knows exactly what she wants in life and the order that it will happen: finish college, complete medical school, and then fall in love. A chance meeting with A&M’s star quarterback Colin McKinney changes everything. A friendship between the two grows over time and blossoms into a powerful love affair. Charlie and Colin must learn to cope with his transition to playing professional football, the crushing attention of the media, and constant demands of his fans. At the same time, she’s struggling with how her dream of attending medical school will fit into their already stressed relationship and Colin’s new life. Falling Into Infinity asks the question is just loving someone enough to make a relationship work?

17861227

I really loved the story of Colin.Fucking.McKinney and Caroline “Charlie” Collins. I have always been such a fan of books that are sports-related so Colin being a quarterback definitely got me interested right from the start. But most importantly, I truly believed their story.

“Hey Charlie,” he mumbled. “What?” “Marry me.” “No Colin. Not today,” I replied sweetly.

There’s an old saying, “If you love something, you have to let it go. If it comes back to you, it’s yours forever. If it doesn’t, then it was never meant to be.” Sometimes, if you really want to give a relationship a better chance to work, you have to step back even if it breaks your heart. 

This reminded me so much of what Colin and Charlie had to go through. In their case, they had to wait eight years to have that second chance.

“Charlie, when you walked into your dad’s office on the first day we met, I knew that you were something special. These last two years haven’t always been easy, but I never once regretted meeting you until this moment. You are the only person that I have ever given my whole self to and you are destroying me before you are even giving me a chance to make our lives complete.”

Yes, some would probably think Charlie to be stupid for doing what she did. How could she even let someone like Colin go when he seemed perfect, not to mention hot, talented and successful? He seemed to be like anyone’s ideal guy. He loved Charlie so much that he already knew for sure that his future included her.

But Charlie had issues that she had to overcome and the love and need that Colin felt for her eventually overwhelmed her. Plus, she also wanted to pursue her dreams of becoming a doctor, to succeed in life much like he was doing. She truly believed that Colin deserved to have the best of her and as long as she felt inadequate and restless, she couldn’t be that for him.

So I honestly get how she had to make that choice. Too bad she had to break his heart in the process. However, I know that it wasn’t easy for her too. How could it when she also loved him so much? But it just wasn’t the right time for them and she had to love herself more at that point. And I also think that Colin had some maturing to do since being that needy and dependent on someone isn’t healthy for a relationship too.

In the end, being apart really worked in their favor.

“Colin, I love you,” I whisper. “I know baby. You told me,” he says confused. “Why are you crying?” “No, Colin. You don’t understand. For the first time in my whole life there are no nagging doubts in my mind about us and if we can make this work. I love you. I love you enough to put you first.”

The first part of the book alternated between the present and the past and the second part was about what happened eight years after. Although that seemed like a lot of things were going on, I felt that the author was able to cover all the bases. It didn’t feel like it was rushed or crammed all in one book. However, there were times when I didn’t like how the story was narrated. It felt forced and it just didn’t flow as naturally as it should have.

Another thing that I didn’t like about the story was how Colin and Charlie eventually came together in the end. Personally, it didn’t seem smart for them to start on the wrong foot. I didn’t like how there was another person involved which led me to not like the epilogue. But I guess this was needed for the plot of the second book (of course this had to be another series).

All in all, I enjoyed reading how Colin and Charlie’s love story unfolded. I’m looking forward to the next installment which thankfully will be out in two months. So please Layne Harper, write faster! Haha! 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Falling Into Infinity (Infinity #1) by Layne Harper

  1. Pingback: Book Review: From Now Until Infinity (Infinity #2) by Layne Harper | Press Pause, Fast Forward

  2. Pingback: Finding Infinity (Infinity #3) by Layne Harper | Press Pause, Fast Forward

Leave a Reply

